Division of Neuroscience
San Raffaele Hospital – Milan

Gianvito Martino received his Medical Degree in 1987 from the University of Pavia (Italy) where he completed his residency in Neurology in 1991. In 1990, he was a Visiting Scientist at the Department of Neurology of the Karolinska Institute (Stockholm, Sweden) and, from 1991 to 1992, he held the position of Research Associate at the Department of Neurology of the University of Chicago (Chicago, IL, USA). From 2016, he has been appointed as Scientific Director of the San Raffaele Scientific Institute. He is full professor of Experimental Biology at the San Raffaele Vita-Salute University in Milan and, from 2009 to 2017, he was appointed Honorary Professor at Queen Mary University of London. He has been the Scientific Secretary (from 1998 to 2003) and the President (from 2009 to 2012) of the Italian Neuroimmunology Society (AINI). He is the founder and the Scientific Coordinator of the European School of Neuroimmunology (ESNI) and of the Global Schools of Neuroimmunology (GSNI). Within the International Society for Neuroimmunology (ISNI), he served as advisory board member (from 2002 to 2010), Vice President (from 2010 to 2012) and President (from 201 to 2014). He has been a member of the scientific committee of the European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ECTRIMS), the Italian Multiple Sclerosis Foundation (FISM), and the Multiple Sclerosis International Federation (MSIF). He served as member of the Grant Reviewing Panel of the UK Multiple Sclerosis Society from 2007 to 2015 and, from 2012 to 2016, he served as a member of the Wellcome Trust’s Peer Review College. From 2015 he serves as Panel Member of the European Research Council (ERC). He is co-author of more than 250 original articles and book chapters. His scientific interests range from the elucidation of the pathogenic mechanisms of immune-mediated central nervous system disorders to the development of gene and stem cell-based therapies for the treatment of these disorders.

<— Roland Liblau      Djordje Miljković —>